Homestead Opening and Awards Celebration

Homestead Opening and Awards Celebration

August 13, 2023 Opening and Awards Video

Frances Perkins Center Board, Staff, and Guests celebrated the opening of the newly preserved Frances Perkins Homestead National Historic Landmark. The celebration honored outgoing Michael Chaney for his decade of leadership that oversaw the successful acquisition and preservation of the Homestead, making this 57-acre historic site ready and available for public visitation.  

In giving recognition to the significant legacy of Frances Perkins whose life work was dedicated for the betterment of all Americans, we honored three individuals continuing in Frances Perkins’ footsteps by supporting the “best possible life” for all:

Maine State Historian Earle G. Shettleworth Jr.–Intelligence & Courage Award; 

Jennifer Abruzzo, General Counsel, National Labor Relations Board–Steadfast Award

Mufalo Chitam, Executive Director, Maine Immigrants’ Rights Coalition — Open Door Award.  

Thank you to our Opening Events' Sponsors!

Sponsor donations support new program and educational opportunities

Spencer Preservation

Susan Carlson Kirk & John Patrick Kirk
Sarah Peskin & William Kelley

Susan Bateson & Stephen Fuller

Allison Beck & Larry Chernikoff

Ann Beaudry & Craig McEwen
Thomas P. Dickerson & Caroline Bruzelius
Brown Richardson + Rowe
Clarissa Rowe
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Greg & Maria Jobin-Leeds
Mount Holyoke College 
Scott Wallace, in Honor of Tomlin Perkins Coggeshall
Jean Weinberg & Sarah Dinaburg
Linda Thayer Wood, MHC 1967

Jules Bernstein & Linda Lipsett
Tomlin Coggeshall & Christopher Rice
Cohen, Weiss and Simon LLP
Erikson Communications Group
First National Bank
Robert H. Flory, Jr.
Teresa & Peter Fogg
Cathy & Richard Freedberg
Maria Mossaides
Geoffrey & Kathryn Precourt
Helen D. (Heidi) Reavis & Steven M. Engel
Hon. Margaret R. Rotundo & Loring Danforth
Laurie & Ted Sears
Nancy Schiffer
Eleanor Shore
Linda & Jurg Siegenthaler
Letitia Wheeler Ufford

Roz Allen & Paul Landry, in Honor of Tomlin Perkins Coggeshall & Christopher Rice
Naomi Barry-Perez
Nicola Beisel
Nan & Peter Benton
Christopher Breiseth
Mary Burton
Michael & Laura Chaney
Coastal Rivers Conservation Trust
Martha Ehrenfeld
Senator James Eldridge, Massachusetts
Martha Ehrenfeld
Jodie Ireland & Chris Baker
Nancy Roosevelt Ireland & Tom Ireland
Kathryn Levett
Jan & Cathel MacLeod
Rachel & Edward McEnroe
Mark Peterson & Jane Margolis
The Reny Charitable Foundation
Elizabeth & Tom Renyi
Janet Shenk
Heather Stone & Erik Sauter
Robert Stropp
Nancy Sun
Women Creating Change
Jane Zimmy, in Honor of Maria Mossaides